Arizona Medical Marijuana Information
Arizona Proposition 203
Also known as the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, Proposition 203 was approved by Arizona’s voters in 2010.
Prop 203, as it came to be known as, legalized the use, purchase, and possession of medical marijuana in Arizona for patients. If a patient suffers from a qualifying condition, Prop 203 allowed them to seek the use of medical marijuana.
Common Medical Marjuana Questions
How Much Is an Arizona Medical Card?
The application fee for an Arizona Medical Marijuana card is $150. On top of that, MMJ Doctors will then charge you a fee, usually somewhere around the same amount as the application fee. This means getting an Arizona medical card usually costs around $300.
Is There a Limit to How Much MMJ a Patient Can Possess?
AZ MMJ patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana every two weeks from licensed dispensaries in Arizona.
Where Can I Use My Medical Marijuana?
Use it at your home. Please note that public MMJ use in Arizona is illegal except in the form of edibles. It is illegal for patients to use marijuana in any public place, such as near/at a school, on mass transit, at correctional institution, or on public transportation.
Can I Grow Medical Marijuana in Arizona?
The only way you can grow medical marijuana in Arizona is if you live more than 25 miles from a dispensary.
Growers can possess up to twelve plants.
Medical Marijuana Caregiver
Arizona Department of Health Services can allow patients to supply medical marijuana to other medical marijuana patients who would have to get their own medication.
- Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age.
- A caregiver can only help up to five medical marijuana patients at a single time and must hold medical marijuana identification cards for every single one.
- A patient doesn’t have to pay a caregiver for labor – they only have to pay for their own medication.
- Caregivers must submit to background checks regarding drug-related felonies.
- Caregivers and patients can share their medical marijuana with other patients as long as they do not exceed 2.5 ounces.
- A designated caregiver application fee is $200.